Best AI Rendering Software 2026: 10 Tools Compared
· Updated · 12 min read

Updated 4 October 2026. Every vendor page was read on that date; where a vendor blocked us or hides prices we say so. Archome AI is the tool we make. Its entry sits sixth and follows the same template as the others.
AI rendering software now means four different things. In-host plugins such as Veras and SketchUp AI Render generate an image over the live viewport. Browser tools such as Gendo, mnml.ai, PromptRender, Archome AI, ArchiVinci and MyArchitectAI take a screenshot, sketch or photo and return a render in seconds for a credit or a quota. A real-time engine such as Twinmotion draws your actual model and keeps every material you specified. Midjourney is a general image generator: strong on mood, indifferent to geometry. This guide compares ten tools on what you can check before paying: inputs, geometry claim, speed, pricing model and licence.
Quick answer
For AI stills inside Revit, Rhino, Archicad or Vectorworks, Veras is the one plugin here that covers all four. If you already pay for SketchUp, AI Render is included and metered in monthly AI Credits. Working from screenshots, sketches or photos, choose by pricing shape: unlimited renders for a flat fee (Gendo, ArchiVinci), one credit balance across render types (mnml.ai, Archome AI), or a render quota (PromptRender, MyArchitectAI). For exact materials at sign-off, Twinmotion renders the real model. With no model yet, Midjourney.
How we evaluated
Inputs: each vendor's pricing, product or help pages, read on 4 October 2026, plus hands-on use of our own tool. We did not push one model through all ten, so there is no image-quality ranking. We compared what is written down:
- Input types: sketch, viewport or screenshot, photo, text.
- Geometry preservation: the vendor's own claim, not our measurement.
- Speed: the vendor's stated time per image.
- Pricing model: seat, flat fee, credits or quota, with figures only where we read them that day.
- Licence: whether commercial use is stated.
- Plugin: runs inside SketchUp, Revit or Rhino, or needs a screenshot.
All 10 tools at a glance
| Tool | Input types | Geometry preserved? | Speed (vendor claim) | Pricing model | Licence stated? |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Veras | Live viewport, 6 hosts | Adjustable slider | Not stated | Per seat | Student tier non-commercial only |
| SketchUp AI Render | SketchUp viewport plus prompt | Auto preset aims to | 13 to 20 seconds | In subscription, AI Credits | Not stated |
| Gendo | Sketch, screenshot, image | "Design fidelity" | "Instantly" | Flat fee, unlimited | Yes, Studio and above |
| mnml.ai | Sketch, photo, view export | Works from your view | Not stated | Credits | Yes, all plans |
| PromptRender | Screenshot plus text | "Exact same viewpoint" | Seconds | Quota or per render | Not stated |
| Archome AI | Photo, sketch, plan, viewport | Yes, stated | About 30 seconds | Credits | Yes, paid plans |
| ArchiVinci | Sketch, screenshot, photo, plan | "Near-100% tracking" | About 5 seconds | Flat fee plus coins | Not stated |
| MyArchitectAI | SketchUp or Archicad view | "Unchanged" claim | Under 10 seconds | From $29 a month | Section unreadable |
| Twinmotion | 3D model via Direct Link | Yes, renders the model | Real time | Free plus paid (unverified) | Not verified |
| Midjourney | Text, image references | No | Not verified | Subscription (see site) | Not verified |
The tools, and who each is for
1. Veras - AI rendering inside the BIM window
What it is: an EvolveLAB plugin that renders the live view inside SketchUp, Revit, Rhino, Archicad, Vectorworks and Autodesk Forma, plus a web app for image uploads.
- Best for: Revit, Rhino and Archicad practices that want AI stills without exporting.
- Pricing model: per seat. Named $59 a month, or $29 a month billed $348 a year; floating $51 a month billed $612 a year; student $149 a year, non-commercial. Trial: 30 renders in 15 days.
- Speed: not stated.
- Standout feature: the Geometry Override slider - low holds the model, high lets the AI wander.
- Limitation: the highest seat price here; paid-seat commercial rights are not spelled out.
2. SketchUp AI Render (formerly Diffusion) - already in your subscription
What it is: Trimble's generative renderer in SketchUp for Desktop, iPad and Web: the active viewport plus a prompt or one of eight presets, saved back as a photo-matched scene.
- Best for: SketchUp users who want a concept image without another account.
- Pricing model: included with a subscription; each level gets monthly AI Credits that do not roll over. Plans: Go $10.75, Pro $33.25, Studio $71.58 per user a month, billed annually. Credits per plan were not shown.
- Speed: 13 to 20 seconds.
- Standout feature: the Auto preset "aims to preserve the materials, geometry, and camera angle of the original".
- Limitation: quality follows the window size, prompts are English-only, no Revit or Rhino version.
3. Gendo - unlimited generations for a flat fee
What it is: a browser canvas that turns sketches, SketchUp exports and model screenshots into renders and swaps materials by prompt.
- Best for: studios that iterate heavily and refuse to count credits.
- Pricing model: flat fee in pounds. Free: one project, watermark, unlimited generations. Studio: GBP 79 a month, or GBP 66 billed GBP 790 a year, unlimited projects, 4 seats, commercial licence. Studio Scale: GBP 299 a month with unlimited video.
- Speed: "instantly" for a base render.
- Standout feature: a commercial licence described as client and NDA-safe, and four seats on the base plan.
- Limitation: no plugin, and no numeric fidelity claim beyond "design fidelity".
4. mnml.ai - twelve tools on one balance, with DXF export
What it is: a browser suite of twelve tools - exterior, interior, sketch, landscape, masterplan, floor plan, enhancer, video - fed by image exports from SketchUp, Revit, Rhino or Blender.
- Best for: practices metering every render type on one balance.
- Pricing model: credits. Lite $29 a month for 1,000 (about 100 Fast or 33 Ultra renders), Plus $49 for 3,000, Studio $119 for 10,000; a one-time $149 pack buys 10,000. 100 free credits at signup.
- Speed: not stated.
- Standout feature: PNG and DXF export, a commercial licence on every plan, no training on your data.
- Limitation: no plugin; every view is a manual export.
5. PromptRender - a screenshot in, a 4K image out
What it is: a cloud tool that takes a viewport screenshot from SketchUp, Revit, Rhino, Blender, ArchiCAD or 3ds Max plus an optional prompt and returns a 4K render.
- Best for: occasional renders where the camera angle must not move.
- Pricing model: Free: 1 render and 1 edit, watermarked. Pro: $20 a month billed $240 a year for 50 renders, $0.40 each at full use. Pay as you go: $1 a render. Weekly pass $9.99.
- Speed: "in seconds".
- Standout feature: the promise to render "from the exact same viewpoint".
- Limitation: no plugin, no sketch or photo lane, no written licence beyond watermark removal. Note the product is at prompt-render.com, not promptrender.com.
6. Archome AI - photo, sketch, plan or viewport on one balance
What it is: a browser platform where sketch-to-render, exterior, interior, staging, a plan editor and video share one credit balance at Fast or Ultra quality. We make it.
- Best for: small practices and agents who render from whatever they have: a site photo, a sketch, a plan, a SketchUp capture.
- Pricing model: credits. 100 at signup, no card. An interior or exterior render is 10 credits at Fast quality or 30 at Ultra; a sketch render is 15 or 45. On the $29 a month plan (1,000 credits) that is about $0.29 a Fast render and $0.87 Ultra. One-time packs: $15 for 500, $39 for 1,500, $99 for 5,000.
- Speed: about 30 seconds.
- Standout feature: SketchUp (Extension Warehouse), 3ds Max and Rhino plugins send the viewport straight in; commercial licence on paid plans.
- Limitation: no DWG export or measured drawings; free output is watermarked and not licensed for commercial use.
For the Rhino plugin workflow end to end — view capture, prompt, 30-second render — see Rhino to photoreal render in 30 seconds.
7. ArchiVinci - unlimited renders on its own engine, coins for the rest
What it is: a browser suite - exterior, interior, floor plan, landscape, masterplan, HDRI panorama - taking sketches, screenshots, photos, plans and elevations, with a SketchUp extension.
- Best for: high-volume users who want a flat fee and a plugin.
- Pricing model: subscriptions with unlimited ArchiVinci-engine renders plus 20 to 500 coins for third-party models. The home page lists $79 a month or $549 a year; the pricing page shows only coin packs, $40 for 125 to $1,100 for 5,000. 3 free renders.
- Speed: "often around 5 seconds".
- Standout feature: "near-100% geometry tracking with smart alerts when a prompt may distort the original structure".
- Limitation: subscription figures live on the home page, and no licence line was found.
8. MyArchitectAI - upload, pick a style, render
What it is: a minimal browser renderer for SketchUp and Archicad views that also enhances low-resolution renders, animates stills and applies a style from a reference photo.
- Best for: a first AI render with nothing to install.
- Pricing model: Starter, Studio and Team "from $29/mo" plus a free plan with 10 renders. Tier prices did not render without scripts, so we quote none.
- Speed: "under 10 seconds".
- Standout feature: the plain claim to render "keeping the geometry and materials unchanged".
- Limitation: Revit and SketchUp plugins are "coming soon"; the IP ownership section was unreadable, so licence terms are unverified.
9. Twinmotion - your model, rendered live (pricing unverified)
What it is: Epic's real-time visualiser on Unreal Engine. Direct Link with Auto Sync covers Revit, SketchUp Pro, Rhino, Archicad, 3ds Max, Vectorworks and others; Navisworks and BricsCAD import by Datasmith file.
- Best for: walkthroughs, panoramas, 360 VR video and stills where materials must be the ones in the model.
- Pricing model: a free tier plus a paid licence. twinmotion.com, unrealengine.com and the Epic store returned 403 on 4 October 2026, so we quote no price or threshold.
- Speed: real time.
- Standout feature: the output documents your model rather than reinterpreting it.
- Limitation: needs a finished model and desktop hardware; no generative AI rendering is documented on the pages we could read.
10. Midjourney - mood boards, not your building (pricing unverified)
What it is: a general image generator driven by text and image references; in architecture it serves competition moods and early massing ideas.
- Best for: the week before there is a model.
- Pricing model: tiered subscriptions. midjourney.com and docs.midjourney.com returned 403 on 4 October 2026, so we quote no prices or commercial terms; see the vendor site.
- Speed: not verified.
- Standout feature: text-only input and image references for a consistent style across a set.
- Limitation: it does not preserve geometry or camera, has no plugin and cannot be fed a model.
Which tool for which job
- Stills inside Revit, Rhino, Archicad or Vectorworks: Veras.
- Stills inside SketchUp: SketchUp AI Render on a subscription; Archome AI or ArchiVinci for a free plugin.
- Hundreds of iterations a month: Gendo or ArchiVinci on a flat fee.
- Exteriors, interiors, staging and plans on one balance: mnml.ai or Archome AI. You can render a sketch on Archome AI with the 100 signup credits.
- A few renders with a fixed camera: PromptRender pay-as-you-go.
- Materials, video and VR for sign-off: Twinmotion.
- No model yet: Midjourney, or a sketch into Gendo, mnml.ai or Archome AI.
What none of these tools do
No generative tool, ours included, guarantees that walls, mullions and column grids survive; every geometry line above is a vendor claim, and the only real test is your own screenshot through two or three of them. None of the browser tools produces construction documents or DWG; mnml.ai exports DXF, a drawing of the image, not a surveyed plan. A real-time engine keeps geometry because it does not generate, which is why it needs a finished model. No vendor publishes an independent accuracy benchmark; galleries are advertising, not evidence.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best AI rendering software for architects in 2026? There is no single best; pick by workflow. Veras for a plugin across six hosts, SketchUp AI Render if you already subscribe, Gendo or ArchiVinci for unlimited renders, mnml.ai or Archome AI for one credit balance, PromptRender for pay-per-render, Twinmotion when materials must be exact, Midjourney for mood.
Which AI rendering tools run as a plugin inside SketchUp, Revit or Rhino? Veras (SketchUp, Revit, Rhino, Archicad, Vectorworks, Forma), SketchUp AI Render (formerly Diffusion), Archome AI (SketchUp, 3ds Max, Rhino) and ArchiVinci (SketchUp). MyArchitectAI lists plugins as coming soon; Gendo, mnml.ai and PromptRender take screenshots.
Does AI rendering keep my geometry and camera angle? Generative tools try and most say so: ArchiVinci claims near-100% tracking, PromptRender the exact viewpoint, MyArchitectAI unchanged geometry, SketchUp an Auto preset, Veras a slider you set. None guarantees it. Twinmotion keeps geometry by rendering the model itself.
How much does AI rendering cost per image? From figures read on 4 October 2026: about $0.29 a Fast render on the $29 plans of mnml.ai and Archome AI ($0.87 Ultra), $0.40 on PromptRender Pro at full use or $1 pay-as-you-go, and falling with volume on Gendo (GBP 79) and ArchiVinci ($79) because renders are unlimited.
Is there a free AI rendering tool? Every tool except Midjourney shows one: Veras 30 renders in 15 days, Gendo a one-project plan with watermark, mnml.ai and Archome AI 100 credits once, PromptRender 1 render and 1 edit, ArchiVinci 3 renders, MyArchitectAI 10. SketchUp AI Render needs a paid subscription.
Can I use AI renders for client work and marketing? Only where it is written: Gendo (Studio and above), mnml.ai (all plans) and Archome AI (paid plans) state commercial use. PromptRender, ArchiVinci and SketchUp do not address it on the pages we read; Twinmotion and Midjourney could not be checked.
Can AI rendering replace V-Ray, Enscape or Twinmotion? For concept and option studies, yes: a 30 second image beats a 20 minute render when the design changes hourly. For final images where every material and shadow must match the specification, no; that is still an engine rendering the real model.
Can AI render from a hand sketch or a photo instead of a 3D model? Yes. Gendo, mnml.ai, Archome AI and ArchiVinci accept sketches and photos as well as model views; Archome AI also reads a floor plan into an editable 3D plan, and ArchiVinci also lists plans and elevations. PromptRender and MyArchitectAI expect a model screenshot; Twinmotion needs the model.
What is the best architectural rendering software for a one- or two-person practice? Price per render matters more than feature breadth at that scale. Gendo's unlimited flat fee or ArchiVinci's unlimited-engine subscription removes the credit-counting that catches up in a busy month; Archome AI's 100 free credits and about $0.29 per Fast render on the entry plan work if renders stay occasional. Veras and SketchUp AI Render only make sense once you already pay for the host software they plug into.
What is the best architectural rendering software for a mid-size firm running more than one CAD tool? Pick by host coverage before price: Veras is the only plugin here that spans Revit, Rhino, Archicad and Vectorworks from one licence, so a firm running more than one of those avoids training staff on separate tools per host. A firm standardised on SketchUp alone gets the same plugin convenience more cheaply from SketchUp AI Render or Archome AI's SketchUp extension.
